Seven Seconds…my acting stint

 

 

Sound of slow chugging of the train…moving too fast and then faster until it fades out…

 The train has already left the station. I lie there on the tracks dismembered, disjointed, dis-si-pating (smiles) I love that word…always have…it sort of sums up what it means right? Language sometimes does make sense.

Although I am senseless now…at least to the curious passers-by but I have a nerve in my brain throbbing…still…

They say you have about seven seconds before you die when memories of your entire life flash before you. Look there…there I am…a baby cuddled up in Ma’s arms…what’s that song playing…twinkle twinkle little star…hmmm hmm…hmm…

And there again, all of 10 cuddled up…am I? Who is that? That old sleazy bastard neighbour…who would sneak in each time we would play hide and seek in his home…I-SPY YOU…I –SPY YOU…you old sleazy bastard…

And then there were friends, laughter, exams, the parties, (starts humming) raindrops keep falling on my head…and my first kiss…(smiles shy) I bit him on the tongue then…we never kissed again…not with each other…

Then the first time in the backseat of a car…fumbling in the dark…In and out…no time for an orgasm…not with my first five at least…but the sixth…(feigns an orgasm) short and sweet…

Graduation day…look at Ma and Pa all proud …waving…Mom!!! Can you see me? Mom!!!

MOM! MOM…CAN YOU HEAR ME MOM?

I was shouting in the hospital corridors but mom couldn’t hear me…she just left…without a warning. Heart attacks have a way of creeping in suddenly…there is a tightness around your chest and the air stops reaching your heart…and you can’t…you can’t…(breathlessness)

7 fucking seconds is too long…for an entire life to be replayed…

I don’t feel any pain right now. If only memories were physical, it would hurt so bad right now…

I came here to see a friend…she’s getting married today…it’s a small town…Kohlapur. No airport in this town…the train from Mumbai stops for one minute only.

I rush forward to get off at the station. But it’s like a small jungle. It doesn’t look like a station.

I hear the sound of the train…it’s about to move again.

Confused, I look around and realize I’m standing at the wrong door.

I rush towards the other door…throw my bag outside…the train has started moving…(sound of chugging) but I can make it. I know I can make it.

But just as I jump, I miss a step, falter for a second and…

sound of train chugging away

 She must be there…my friend at the station…among the faces looking down at me…she must be there…but I’m no more…

 

P.S. This was a quick, short piece I wrote to audition for a play. An immersive theatre experience, I eventually played the role of a Word Nurse, one that is trying to save words that are dying. The play was produced by a theatre production company called CROW.

 

 

Leave a Reply

