The Day You Painted Me…

 

 

Do you remember the day you painted me?

 

I remember the strokes

Those lines…those dots

that you joined, To make

it look like me…

 

I remember looking beautiful

Those eyes…that face,

The knit of the brow

that you drew…

 

It was all in black and white

As if you knew

already.

That it would be a memory

of our past…

 

I remember the day I put it in trash

Scattered and torn.

An eye here, a brow there

The lip cut in two,

Just like my heart…

 

I remember the day you painted me.

 

P.S. The image in the post is Picasso’s The Dream. It features his mistress Marie-Therese Walter

Leave a Reply

